Vauxhall Corsa E Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had my corsa e limited edition 1.2 in red for about a month now and I've noticed a couple of times it struggles going smoothly into first gear... I'm a mechanic myself but just wondering if any of you guys have had the same problem.... Most likely just "new ness" haha

·
Registered
90 Posts
Hay yep I found that with first, although it is started to wear in now, (had it about a month now)

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Never had any issue with my gearbox, but it seems those with a 5 speed have found it to be clunky. My dads one isn't as smooth as mine either, so I suspect it's just the 5 speed box.

·
Registered
2,902 Posts
Like Limey I've had no issues at all with my 6 speed box however there have been quite a few posts from people complaining of crunching or stubborn changes on the 5 speed box so you are not alone.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
mud4fun said:
Like Limey I've had no issues at all with my 6 speed box however there have been quite a few posts from people complaining of crunching or stubborn changes on the 5 speed box so you are not alone.
I've always known VX gearboxes to be clunky and need a sledgehammer to change gear, which is why I was pleasantly surprised by the 6 speed!

·
Registered
454 Posts
I've got the 5 speed and yes it can be hard to change gear mostly 1st and 2nd when cold but as things warm up is gets better

·
Registered
2,902 Posts
LimeyUK said:
I've always known VX gearboxes to be clunky and need a sledgehammer to change gear, which is why I was pleasantly surprised by the 6 speed!
:lol:

Funny thing is that my 6 speed box is actually one of the nicest changing boxes I've had for ages. It has a nice feel to the change. It changes smoothly and it also tolerates quick changes under hard acceleration too which many modern boxes don't like.