Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU
jamesharris5949
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:07 pm

Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by jamesharris5949 » Sat May 14, 2016 5:50 pm

is there something im missing or does it have to be coded in by a computer, or is it just not possible.

User avatar
JayREvans
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:15 pm

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by JayREvans » Tue May 17, 2016 9:31 am

Hi James,

I believe the Sting and Sting R don't have the option to display MPG. I have the Sting R and it doesn't display on mine, I was told it could be maybe by a software update but I haven't yet taken up this issue with Vauxhall. It would be nice to have it but ah well.
Sting R with go faster stripes 1.0T 115ps, Flame Red ;)

User avatar
thewhale
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:15 am

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by thewhale » Tue May 17, 2016 11:56 am

I have a Design and would be interested in getting the MPG on my dashboard if possible - has anyone spoken to Vauxhall about the software upgrade?
2019 Corsa Griffin 1.4 3DR
2015 Corsa Design 1.4 3DR
www.samwhaley.com

User avatar
mud4fun
Posts: 2902
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:25 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by mud4fun » Tue May 17, 2016 1:33 pm

Do the Design and Sting have the same basic dash display (white text on black background) as the LE etc but with a menu option missing or is it a different screen layout? If same basic screen/menu system but with just a hidden menu then it may just need a software change. However if your screens don't look like this below then you may need different hardware.

WP_20160505_18_25_55_Rich.jpg

WP_20160505_06_25_37_Rich.jpg

Can you post a picture of what your screens look like?
Dafny - 3dr LE 1.4T in Limelight Green
Image

User avatar
Klesmy
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:14 am
Location: North Lincolnshire

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by Klesmy » Tue May 17, 2016 5:34 pm

The sting has a different display. I will post pic asap
MY15 1.4 na 5 Door Red Sting.

User avatar
Harryjt97
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:12 pm
Location: Southend on Sea/ Northampton

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by Harryjt97 » Tue May 17, 2016 5:55 pm

Yeah the Sting models don't come with the MPG display, I think it's pretty easy to do just take the car to a vauxhall dealer and get it tech2'd in. Probably charge you rip off prices to do so though.
2016 Corsa 1.4T Black edition
Panoramic Sunroof Bi-xenon headlights
Enhance Performance De-Cat downpipe
Powerflow Exhaust system

User avatar
mud4fun
Posts: 2902
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:25 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by mud4fun » Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 pm

Klesmy wrote:The sting has a different display. I will post pic asap
Is it the old Corsa D unit (orange on black)? If so then I suspect it is a hardware change. I doubt they use the same display, I've seen the orange on black unit and it is a very different layout and style compared to the one in my E.
Dafny - 3dr LE 1.4T in Limelight Green
Image

User avatar
thewhale
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:15 am

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by thewhale » Tue May 17, 2016 8:51 pm

I believe my screen is the same as you guys just without the software to display all the extra bits :)

image.jpeg

2019 Corsa Griffin 1.4 3DR
2015 Corsa Design 1.4 3DR
www.samwhaley.com

joeboy
Posts: 356
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by joeboy » Tue May 17, 2016 8:53 pm

There is a photo of my Sting display on my thread.

Image

http://www.corsaeforums.co.uk/viewtopic ... 9&start=10

User avatar
srihaggis
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:52 pm

Re: Corsa sting no mpg reading?

Post by srihaggis » Tue May 17, 2016 8:58 pm

In theory it's just a case of enabling the screen to display the data, but this can only be done by VX or someone like an autoelectrican. I know someone who has all the kit and is going to enable mine once he returns off holiday. he has done loads of work for me on my VXL's in the past including enabling the trip computer on my Astra Excite which as standard came with nothing apart from odometer reset, so I turn I got the usual stuff, Range, MPG, Average MPG, MPH etc.
Will report back once i've got mine done.

Edit: Just seen the photo of the red display. You might be able to get a basic display. Do you have a rotary rocker on your indicator stalk with menu button? My astra had the most basic screen and was capable of being enabled to display the data in the most basic form.
MY16 1.4 Auto Energy 5 door Persian Blue, OnStar & Intellilink 4.0.

Post Reply